Hold the Phone: Florida Finally Enacts Texting Ban

by Carmen Dellutri on June 10, 2013

Sarasota accident attorneyGov. Rick Scott recently signed Florida’s texting ban into law. Florida is now the 41st state to outlaw manually sending text messages behind the wheel.

As Cape Coral injury lawyers, we had hoped for a stricter ban. But this is certainly a start. Of the 256,443 reported crashes in Florida in 2012, 4,841 involved a driver who was texting or otherwise using an "electronic communication device" while driving, according the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Under the new law, drivers are prohibited from sending text messages while driving. But they can still text if stopped in traffic or at traffic lights.

The law also only makes texting while driving a secondary offense, which means law enforcement must stop drivers for another reason, such as careless driving, before they can be cited for texting while driving. In a last minute amendment to the law, a driver's phone records cannot be used as evidence unless the texting ticket relates to a crash that results in a death or injury.

The fine for the first offense is $30 plus court costs and increases to $60 for a second offense. The law takes effect in October.

The Dellutri Law Group is focused on making bad situations better and putting lives back together. If you or someone you love has been seriously injured in a Cape Coral accident caused by someone else’s negligence, you may be entitled to compensation.

To learn more about your legal options, contact our experienced Cape Coral injury attorneys for a free consultation.

Previous post:

Next post: